Some people say that distance learning is a quick and effective way to study. Others, however, disagree and say that distance learning programs can never be as good as courses taken in person.

Nowadays, there is growing trend to study from home, yet there are number of students that still attend universities and colleges for their education. I completely agree that distance learning can never have the same impact as enrolling in universities or colleges. First of all, attending schools is important for an individual personality development. The experience and relationship that one builds from their professors cannot be denied. It is no doubt true that teachers not just share knowledge in the classroom but other important moral values as well. For instance, our lecturer always shared her personal experiences in the classroom about life, that grew my confidence. Therefore, these individual moments cannot be achieved with long distance learning. Another important factor of enrolling in universities or college is the growth of social life. On the one hand, it helps students make friends, on the other hand, it can tempt them to be compatible. Moreover, it is no doubt true that everyone needs friend, and what is better than someone one can share their education with. In contrast, distance learning provides people with options to save money, and time. In other words, many students want to pursue jobs in order to pay expenses. With distance learning and custom schedule, they are able to work full time and make money. Nevertheless, this is not ideal, especially for students who leave no time for education. To conclude, I believe that attending universities or colleges has a positive effect on social and personal growth of students, but distance learning is a great option for individuals who are under the impact of financial crisis.