All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for a children's future.

Parents always have the best interests of children at their heart. It is believed by some that children ought to learn skills at school, while others believe they will benefit more, if a variety of subjects are taught. In my opinion, I consider that having an understanding of a broad range of subjects is the key to a child's future. On the one hand, it is considered by some that schools should focus on teaching children skills. Non-academic skills are important for an overall development of a child, in other words, they need to learn how to co-operate with others. Since we do not live, work or socialize in isolation, these skills will help them succeed in school and later in life when they will be part of a team environment. For instance, learning to communicate effectively with others and to resolve conflicts and confrontations are skills that will stand them in good stead in their future. On the other hand, some believe and I agree that schools need to emphasize on a varied curriculum. Students nowadays, are faced with a lot of competition and exposing them to a variety of subjects is the key to a successful future. At this age, children are keen learners and observers and therefore, can learn concepts and fundamentals of all topics much more easily and effectively. As a result, they will develop a broad understanding, which will benefit them academically as well as later on in life to be successful in whatever profession they choose. Consequently, this will shape them to be well balanced and rounded individuals who are ready to take on the challenging job market. In conclusion, parents desire the best for their children and schools can play an important role towards it, and I believe that the ideal way to ensure a child's future is by having a curriculum that focuses on a broad range of subjects.