Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary.

This essay will discuss the issue of taxing high-fat products. While some people see this as a solution for the growing amount of obese humans, others think it is not fair and not necessary to make unhealthy foods cost more. I will discuss both sides of the matter and give my opinion on it. On one side of the argument people say that legislation to make unhealthy foods more expensive will help individual people make better and healthier choices. Despite the fact that it is common knowledge that fruit and vegetables are healthier, a lot of people cannot stand the temptation of cheap and sugar and fat rich products when they are shopping. On the other hand, people say that it is unfair to make customers pay more for food that can be bad for their health, because it will hurt poor people more than rich ones. There is a group of people who can only afford cheap food. These kind of measurements will hit them hard and besides that it is said that such a tax is also unnecessary, because there are lots of other things the government can do to make society have a better food consumption pattern, like education about food and its effect on peoples’ health. In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their merits, but in my opinion a ‘fat tax’ can definitely help people to make better choices. Money is always a strong director when it comes to choices and especially when it comes to food consumption, population health can become much better.