Traffic problems are increasing in most cities. What can be done about this?

In recent years, there are a growing number of transport problems in almost all metropolitan areas. Nevertheless, there are some feasible solutions can be taken to solve this issue. On the one hand, governments can encourage people to use more public transport or environmentally friendly vehicles instead of private ones. This solution not only reduces the congestion during rush hours, but also limits the toxic fumes which are adversely affecting people's health. There are many ways to implement this solution. For instance, governments could lower the prices transport and expand the timetable. Besides, they also can install more cycle lanes and pedestrian lanes stimulate citizens to use more bicycles or to walk more. One the other hand, charging private vehicle users a levy and prevent private transports in city areas on certain day should be taken into account. Firstly, by imposing taxes on drivers, governments could also raise a fund for road maintenance purposes. Secondly, banning cars or other private transports in city center on certain days will reduce the risk of traffic accidents or transportation jams. For example, councils and governments could charge each car users $2 each time they drive their cars on the street. Moreover, they should prevent all private vehicles from the city centre on the weekends to avoid transport problems. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that although the rate of traffic issues is the alarming increase in many big cities, there are some possible solutions can be done to solve the problems. Firstly, governments can adjust the prices and timetable of public transport, or they can install more bicycle lanes to promote citizens to avoid using private vehicles. Secondly, councils and governments could also impose taxes on car drivers and ban cars from city on the weekends to reduce the risk of traffic problems