The population of most cities is growing as people move to cities to find work and new opportunities. What problems does overpopulation in cities cause? How can these problems be solved?

Nowadays, the majority of people are frequently migrating into urban areas to access well-paying jobs as urban areas have more opportunities than rural areas. However, this has led to an overcrowding situation whereby a vast number of people are living in a small space. This essay will discuss the issues which resulted from overpopulation in cities and will offer some proper solutions. To begin with, two issues have become prominanet due to overpopulation in cities which are unemployment and urban crime. First, the problem of joblessness is the most eminent in urban areas, and it is even more elevated among educated people. According to an article published by the Guardian, it is estimated that more than half of unemployed youths around the globe live in metropolitan cities. In other words, the increasing relocation of people from rural or developing areas to urban areas is the leading cause of urban unemployment. Second, issues of lack of jobs usually lead to poetry, and this might lead to numerous social problem, one of which is urban crimes. Most of the crimes such as murder, kidnapping and robbary are reported to be more prominent in the urban vicinities. Besides, poverty-related crimes are the highest in fast-growing urban regions, and, as a result, these acts of urban crimes upset the peace and tranquility in the cities. To lessen the adverse effects of overpopulation, private investment should be encouraged to create more job opportunities. For instance, if the government grants private investments subsidies as well as facillitate their project, this might accelerate the process of job creations. Furthermore, in order to reduce urban crimes, the government should fight poverty which is the root of all evil. It can contribute to lower the cost of basic needs such as healthcare, education and public transformation. The objective here is to provide people with social services that will aid them in poverty and might deter them from committing a crime. In conclusion, overcrowding in cities has resulted in unemployment, poverty and the lack of social services. However, if the stakeholders ensured that all population within urban areas have access to adequate social services, such as jobs, education and healthcare, it might mitigate the situation.