The population of most cities is growing as people move to cities to find work and new opportunities. What problems does overpopulation in cities cause? How can these problems be solved?

In recent years urbanisation has seen a gradual long-term tendency, as many people are willing to leave rural areas for future prosperity in concrete jungles. This phenomenon leads to surging populations in megapolises and, consequently, to several social and environmental issues. The following essay will examine two main complications which the relocation process entails and also suggest possible solutions to tackle with them. To begin with, the most densely populated cities face transportation difficulties as well as the loss of greenery. Firstly, since a figure of citizens are constantly growing, it spurs an additional number of individual vehicles to road congestion. To be specific, Moscow is one of the most popular regions for migration purpose with Russian, and nowadays it counts more than seven million cars on the roads, which make public transportations are extremely slow. Besides, to host new arrivals in urban areas governments have to getting rid of trees to free up places for the residential buildings. Hence, deforestation takes place in metropolises and this have a drastic impact on ecological web of urban areas. From my point of view, an environmentally friendly city planning and the evaluation of transport systems will help to mitigate the issues caused by overpopulation. Since an intensive growth of personal cars takes its toll on public transits, governments should revise the approach of municipal services. To illustrate this point, Singapore recently launched a project, which is aimed to move all public services beneath the surface, and this will definitely make space for commercial and individual uses. In addition, to halt environmental degradation, especially, the loss of vegetation, megapolises must be planned to make living nature intertwined with architecture. As a case in point, one of the southern cities of China are currently being redesigned to make feasible to grow up mini forests on the roofs of residential buildings. In conclusion, the migration process from farming places to metropolises is becoming all too familiar nowadays. This tendency comes together with two pressing problems like staggering roadblocks and deforestation in megalopolises. As for me, the clues to manage the difficulties are rational city planning including nature elements in urban constructions and shifting governments’ emphasis to the underground transportation.