The population in most of the cities is growing as people move to cities to find work and new opportunities. What problems does overpopulation in cities cause? How can these problems be solved?

In recent times, there is an increasing trend of population migrating to nearby major cities to find more opportunities. This essay will discuss the major problems of overpopulation in such places and propose possible solutions to curb this. There are a plethora of elements which arise due to excess density of population in major metropolis, an important one to consider is the substantial increase in cost of living. This is because majority of people draw high salaries, which leads to higher spending capabilities. By virtue of this, there will be a significant rise in the prices of basic necessities such as housing, food, and entertainment. In contrast, in the past, due to paucity of population, the affordability was high in megalopolis. To combat this, government needs to invest and develop other promising towns by creating employment through industrialization or expansion of existing major businesses. As a result, there will be an alternative to major urban areas and issues of concentrated development does not arise. Another cardinal danger of growing population in cities is lack of greenery in the environs. Due to erection of more concrete structures to accommodate more people, the bio-diversity is affected. To illustrate, highly polluted places in the world are major cities only. To alleviate this, awareness of Eco-friendly style of living needs to be created, which by planting more trees and use of electric vehicles can be initiated. Accordingly, it will compensate for less trees and control pollution in long-run. In conclusion, higher cost of lifestyle and shortage of greenery are vital concerns of overcrowding urban areas. This can be minimized by development of other towns and encouraging Eco-friendliness.