Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals.

The discussion whether animals should be kept in zoos or not raises a thorny question. While some people claim that all zoos ought to be shut down in terms of an inappropriate environment, I would argue that they are quite useful shelters for endangered species. According to the opponents of zoos, animals' rights are violated by zookeepers with a cruel behaviour. As they are forced to breed or entertain the crowd, consequently, they are likely to be injured. Thus, society has witnessed the death of several predators in zoos without sharing any reasons. Even though, we cannot denounce all zoos since there are some professional zookeepers who approach all animals with care. However, others, including me, consider that it is very useful to preserve animals in zoos, especially endangered ones. To begin with, if we consider that some of the employees of the zoo attend professional trainings before doing their jobs, we might imagine how safe it is for rare species. A good example of it might be seen in last year's report of the zoo in my country. So that more than 20 sick and homeless animals were recovered by the veterinarians' special treatment since they had been adopted by zoos. Another point is that the decrease of animals due to hunting could be stopped by protecting them in the safe shelters. In this way, the extinction of these animals might be diminished. In conclusion, while some people oppose keeping animals in zoos because of a cruel treatment, I would claim that it had better to protect animals in these safe places.