Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities

Nowadays, congestion in all countries, especially in big cities, is on the increase and this problem should be tackled by the governments. Some measures should be taken to provide a descent public transportation and making some traffic rules to control the traffic in big cities. The most important reason that people prefer to use their own car is the lack of good service in public transportation. If there is a comfortable and cheap transportation in major cities, people will prefer to use it instead of driving. In addition, the prices should be reasonable to encourage people for using it. As an example, Finland, which is famous for the traffic-free streets, could reduce the traffic up to 60% by improving the public transportation system in 1998. On the other hand, governments should think up new ideas in changing the civic infrastructures. For instance, by adding congestion charges for going to the special parts of the cities such as city center or by introducing some parts as a car-free zones like the historical parts of the cities which are always crowded because of the tourists. Or by dividing the cars based on their plate number and the days of the week, even and odd, in order to enter to some specific parts of the city. To sums up, the traffic problem should be tackled by the governments since it could cause another problems in the future such as air pollution. To overcome this issue, some more effort is needed.