Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Discuss the problems and Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

It is true that traffic overload is a serious issue in large cities nowadays. In order to decrease number of vehicle on the streets different actions can be applied. The key solution for reducing traffic jams on a city could probably be the improved public transportation system. As if a city had comfortable vehicles with a good schedule and reasonable fee, it would encourage citizens to use public transport on daily basis rather than drive a private one. For instance, in my home city with appearance of the underground system large amount of people change their preferences in the favor of the public transport. In addition, city authorities may imply charges for entering to the city by cars or trucks and even close some streets for private transport. Hopefully, entrance fee will act as a deterrent factor for non-residential transport and help raise money for improvements in city’s transportation system. To illustrate, London city has a congestion charge for those vehicles, which are willing to enter the cities center. Another way to tackle a traffic problem is construction of multilevel junctions and extension of existing roads in order to increase their carrying capacity. As a result, all measures listed above in combination should lead to the solution of a raising problem of the roadblock in rush hours. In conclusion, a growing issue of a heavy traffic in the cities can be successfully tackled if various measures will be introduced such as improvement in the public transportation system, construction of new junctions and implementation of a congestion fee.