Traditional medicine, such as acupuncture and herbal remedies, is very popular in some countries. Those who practise traditional medicine claim that it is better than modern medicine in maintaining and improving health. with this v

There are some countries, where traditional medicine has deep roots and has been used to treat different diseases since long time ago. According to adepts of traditional methods of treatment, modern medicine concedes to traditional one in terms of efficiency and harmlessness. I can’t agree with this point of view and my position will be explained in this essay. Firstly, traditional ways of treatment might not be as effective as synthetic remedies are, which means lost time for a patient. It could work for light problems, while for severe sicknesses this could mean lower chances to recover. For example, cancer progresses really fast and every week without proven treatment could mean a patient’s life. Secondly, as traditional medicine often does not require official recipes, the uncontrollable usage could be a case. This could lead to undesired results for a patient and could even worsen the physical condition of a person. For example, taking some herbs, like mint, could be highly risky for a pregnant woman and her fetus, that’s why taking any remedies should be strictly under specialist’s control. It should be said that traditional medicine proves to be a trustworthy solution for some people, providing slow, but gentle impact on an organism. Often it seems to be cheaper as well, which could be compensated by the extended duration and need to replenish the stock of pills. But when it comes to a serious problem, in many cases only modern medicine could help to solve the health issue. To summarise, it could be concluded that despite some benefits of the traditional approach in medicine, when it comes to a need for a proven effect, the scientific approach should be preferred. I believe, in the future, the importance of modern medicine would probably become even higher due to continious improvement by scientists and medics.