TPO6 #1- Talk about a photograph or painting you have seen that was memorable. Explain what you liked or disliked about it.

The gradual merging of cultures and economies over the world has led to an increasingly competitive international job market. Recognition of the role [THAT] competitiveness plays in success has permeated most facets of society, and this includes the institutions that prepare students for adulthood. It is agreed [I AGREE THAT] that competitiveness among high school students should be encouraged. The merits of this position will be shown by looking at how a competitive spirit can help train young people to both spot opportunity and cooperate with others. Firstly [ON THE ONE HAND], grooming students to be competitive at a young age can help prepare them to seize opportunities down the road. For example, in many countries, high school is followed by a period of intense competition, as students vie [LOOK FOR] for scholarships, internships and career options. Students who are not naturally competitive or willing to improve their skills in relation to others will not achieve the same results as those that [WHO} approach chance more aggressively. Thus, it is important to encourage competition among students at an early age to provide them with a strong start in life. Furthermore, competition in team settings breeds cooperation, a trait that often acts as a precursor to success in life. For instance, to overcome an opponent in a competitive game, the members of a high school basketball team must work together to maximize their collective strengths. This acts as an example of how competition in a group setting can teach a young person the importance of teamwork, a valuable skill these young people will need in their future careers. Thus, it is clear that benefits do derive from the encouragement of competition in high school. As the above shows, competitiveness is beneficial to teenagers because it prepares them to grab educational and professional opportunities and as well instills an understanding of the importance of cooperation. Thus, it can be concluded that there are clear and healthful advantages to encouraging competition among high school students. It is hoped this trait is increasingly instilled in the young people of tomorrow.