TPO30: It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours

It is not hidden to anybody that the issue of job satisfaction plays a pivotal role in every individual' s life, as we spend most of our time on our careers. In this regard, some people are of the opinion that working fewer days for a longer time would be more advantageous than working five days a week for a shorter time. From my own perspective, this statement is superficial and have not considered some negative aspects of working for long hours. In the following paragraph, I will cogently substantiate my viewpoint by three conspicuous reasons. One of the noticeable points that everybody should consider is the detrimental effects of working for long hours on our performance. According to various studies, human has a capacity for working and after reaching its climax the quality of performance and the efficiency would dramatically decrease. This capacity differs from one person to another but its average is almost 8 hours. After working for 8 hours you would be definitely exhausted would not be able to fully concentrate on what you were doing. As a personal experience, last year when I initiate working on a project I allocated 12 hours to work on it each day. After a while, I felt really desperate as I did not obtain any noticeable result. Therefore, working fewer days for long hours would not be a good choice as it would substantially decrease productivity and efficiency. Another point that supports my viewpoint is the issue of optimal use of time. Experiences have proven that when we have more leisure time it is more likely to squander our time and energy. Although, it would be a good option for travel lovers to be free four days a week, for most of the people it would definitely be tedious and boring. For example two years ago I used to work for longer hours on specific days a week and then have more free time on other days. After reading books and catching up with other tasks I had nothing to do and then I was just wasting my time with unimportant tasks like watching movies and surfing on the internet. On the whole, I did not have fruitful days. Regarding this issue, the final point coming to my mind is that people who have a more uniform plan for their week are less stressed and have a more healthy life. Lots of studies have proven that non-stop working for long hours would endanger health conditions. It would increase the risk of contracting high blood pressure and heart attack. Employees who prefer to have fewer working days a week, have a jammed plan for specific days and they are required to accomplish more tasks a day and this condition imposes a huge burden os stress on them. On the other hand, employees who work five days a week are less anxious as their plan for working days is not packed and heavy. They could leisurely accomplish their tasks without any worry. In conclusion, I am strongly of the opinion that working five days a week for shorter hours is more profitable as it would definitely increase productivity, help employees to have a more uniform plan which helps them to maintain their health condition, and prevent them from wasting their time.