tpo27 #3The woman expresses her opinion about the university’s plan. Briefly summarize the plan, then state her opinion and explain the reasons she gives for holding that opinion.

Nowadays, many suggest that only governments and large companies can help improve the environment and that individuals cannot do anything about it. In my opinion, individuals can also have an important role in enhancing their surroundings as they follow the rules and become mindful consumers. A good reason why individuals can make a difference in the environment is that it is they who follow the laws which the government gives. This means that without the law-abiding citizens, the implementation of such environmentally-friendly rules will not be possible. To give an illustration, the environmental act of 2005, a law in which people were obliged to segregate their wastes into compost wastes, landfill garbage, and recyclable, was a success as individuals from around the globe strictly followed this. As a result, lesser non-biodegradable wastes are produced, reducing it to a tolerable amount in the present, thus improving the cleanliness of the environment Another point is that individuals can help restore the beauty of the surroundings by buying things mindfully. Many of the consumers today are more aware and conscious of what they buy especially the materials being used. For instance, a lot of women at home today, shop the reusable food wrapper made out of beeswax instead of using plastic ones. This has helped to lower the volume of plastics in the community garbage bins and, in the long run, will help reduce the overall amount of it in the national landfills. In conclusion, individuals are still needed in the restoration of the environment, especially by abiding with the laws and through conscious consumerism.