TPO25 – Q2: Some people do not enjoy shopping and shop only when they have a specific purchase to make. Others like to go shopping for pleasure whether or not they have something to buy. Which do you prefer and why?

It is believed that only governments are capable of solving environmental problems. While I accept that this may suit many people, I believe that it requires everyone, governments, and citizens, to join hands in order to protect the environment. On the one hand, there are some problems which only the politicians have the power to tackle. First of all, governments can pass laws against damaging the environment. For example, without the laws, animal poaching and cutting down the forests would become so common, and sooner or later, the environment will be ruined and the biodiversity will be destroyed. Secondly, governments around the world can join forces to solve environmental problems. Finding an effective measurement for these problems might require some advanced technology, an abundant amount of money and resources, and only the governments can provide them. On the other hand, citizens also play a crucial role in protecting the environment. When each individual takes some simple actions every day, it will have a significant impact on saving the nature. These actions include reducing the consumption of energy or the usage of plastic items such as plastic bags or plastic bottles. Not only recycling, but changing people’s means of transport could also be very important. By switching to public transport, citizens might help to reduce the amount of greenhouse gas emissions and prevent air pollution. In conclusion, I believe that not only the governments but also each individual should contribute to the protection of the environment.