TPO2- Q2- Some college students choose to take courses in a variety of subject areas in order to get a broad education. Others choose to focus on a single subject area in order to have a deeper understanding of that area. Which approach to course selectio

It is an undeniable fact that the schools concentrate more on conventional subjects than modern ones. According to one pool of thoughts, the schools should be able to impart useful knowledge that aids in searching employment. This essay shall discuss this notion along with my opinion in forthcoming paragraphs. The issue of unemployment is faced by many people worldwide. Therefore, if students are taught the skills and information required for modern occupations, it will curb this issue. For example, if children who belong to families which live below the poverty line are taught some skills for plumbing or carpentry, it will be fruitful for them. In addition to this, conventional subjects like history are boring and students have to do rote learning just for the sake of clearing exams. These subjects are not found interesting at all which leads to stress due to increase in the burden. For instance, 70% of students are encountering stress due to lack of interest in such subjects. However, the proponents of traditional subjects believe that these subjects form the pillars of education. To prove this point, they argue that history helps to know the mistakes and lessons of the past that will aid in planning future. Pondering upon both the sides, I come to conclusion that pupils should be taught the skill set designed to provide jobs in future promisingly. Besides, the conventional subjects can be made optional, so that they can choose to learn due to interest and not under any kind of compulsion.