TPO11- some people think that children should be allowed to watch whatever television program they choose to. Others think that parents should exercise control over the television program their children watch.

Consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s life. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Consumer goods have become the mainstay of people’s living.  This essay is an attempt to study the advantages and disadvantages and provide a conclusion. In today’s fast paced world, consumer goods are a boon to humanity.  Firstly, they are available in all categories ranging from automobiles, furniture, household appliances etc.  While they make life easy and comfortable, they do not cost an arm and a leg and are generally affordable.  For instance, one can cook up a pre cooked meal to satisfy hunger or reach any far off place in no time by taking a vehicle or perform all household chores such as laundry, dish cleaning, sweeping and mopping at the click of a button of the washing machine, dish cleaner, and vacuum cleaner respectively.  Hence, this definitely leaves some room for an individual to pursue their hobbies or passions, which leads to better living standards. However, consumer goods have their drawbacks as well.   This results in obesity and other ailments such as cardiac problems, diabetes, joint aches, respiratory issues etc. This isolation is known to cause depression tendencies in individuals.  Excessive usage of automobiles is fast depleting our natural resources such as petrol, diesel and adding to the existing pollution levels. It would be prudent to say that while consumer goods still continue to be a boon to mankind, its usage should be regulated and monitored on an individual and government level to ensure it continues to be a boon and not a bane.