TPO 9 Independent task Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Setting a retirement age has always been a debatable issue. While some opine that individuals after reaching the age of 65 years should be restrained from working, others believe that such restriction is useless, and hence, should not be imposed. This essay will discuss both views and will argue in favour that restriction associated with age is impractical as it will restrict the most knowledgeable and productive employees of the organisation, from performing their duties. It is clear that aged employees are beneficial for the organisation as they have invaluable experience and proficiency. They can contribute this knowledge in boosting the productivity and profitability of the company. This is to say, older people have inculcated skills, knowledge and understanding through years of work, thus, they can help with providing optimal decisions in several fields. To elucidate, a recent study done by The Times showed that most successful organisations had a large portion of their workforce working for them for at least 15 years. However, some disagree with this notion and believe that age related health issues would burden the company with medical expenses. In other words, elderlies have health problems, such as diabetes, osteoporosis, joint pains and blood pressure, which not only restricts them from performing their tasks actively and efficaciously, but also puts a financial burden on the organisation. Thus, they are viewed as a liability and should be asked to discontinue. To exemplify, a recent study conducted by The New York Times showed that more than 80 percent of management prefers younger employees as medical costs incurred on elderlies are a major cause of concern. To conclude, while the benefit of working in older age is a positive trend as they are an asset to companies with their boundless erudition, while some still feel that they should not be allowed to work as they suffer from physical problems. However, I vehemently agree that people above the age of 65 must be authorized to work because of their level of understanding and expertise which is rewarding and fruitful for companies.