TPO 54 Writing Independent Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support yo

In the modern era, governments invest in several areas including education, health, transportation, and so forth to fulfill people' s necessary demands. Moreover, the government may allocate budgets to other activities as well, including supporting artists and athletes. The controversial question which arises here is to some extent the government should support each group. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that the government should spend more money in support of arts while others believe that the attention should be focused on athletes. From my vantage point, the latter view is more rational. In what follows, two significant reasons will vindicate my viewpoint. The first aspect to point out is that in most international events including the Olympics, athletes and sports teams are representative of their countries. If they flourish and succeed in the competitions, their countries would be introduced positively and people from all around the world will conceive a decent image of those nations. For instance, I' m always really enthusiastic about watching the Olympic Games. Sometimes, I see people from countries whose names I may not have even heard before. When I see these people' s success, I would think that they have a supportive government and I even become interested to know more about their country. Therefore, supporting athletes could bring about international fame and success for the countries. On the other hand, although art can promote a country’s status as well, for example, there might be some exhibitions and events which different countries present their arts, no event is actually more famous than sports events. Therefore, every nation should pay more attention to their athletes. Furthermore, athletes include larger populations of a country. There are various sports and in each of them, several people are active. Therefore, if a country pays attention to its athletes, indeed, it assists a wider range of people to thrive and bring success for the country. Moreover, with more support of the government, young talents will become more motivated to follow their interests in a special sport. For instance, in one of the Middle East countries, the government supports its athletes insufficiently. As a result, fewer young children are willing to pursue sports for the rest of their life. Moreover, current athletes are really dissatisfied since they have difficulty to afford their necessary demands. They may even leave their activities and be occupied with other jobs so that they can make ends meet. Therefore, inadequate support of governments not only results in less success and prominence of a country but also would present challenging life situations for a wide range of the population. To recapitulate, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that governments should devote more investment in supports of athletes. Although other groups of people including artists should be valued by the government and provided with sufficient support, the fact that athletes are representative of a country' s identity in international events would result in special attention from the authorities. Moreover, the athletes involve a larger population of a country and therefore, governments should give more encouragement and financial assistance so that the country will boast more successful people.