TOPIC # 46 What are the important qualities of a good son or daughter? Have these qualities changed or remained the same over time in your culture?

Looking back at my childhood, it is almost impossible for me to compensate for all sacrifices that my parents have made for me and hardships they have been through because of me. However, offspring can bring a little relief to their parents by having some good manners such as; First of all, it is practically advised in every religion or culture that children should respect their parents no matter how poor or less qualified they are. We should respect them by being obedient to their logical appeals, carefully listening to their advice, and following their instructions. We should be respectful to what they set as a punishment for us, or for their prohibitions. Meanwhile, a good son or daughter neither raises his or her voice against them nor starts a brawl with them. Second, good offspring are also caring towards parents. She understands that she has also some responsibilities towards them that should not be disregarded by some excuses. She tries to help them with chores when they need a hand or they are simply tired. She looks after them especially when they are sick or aged. For example, my father is an ideal symbol of a good son for his very old mother, although she has a very bad temper, just scolds everyone for everything, and nothing can satisfy her. She is quite intolerable, nevertheless my father takes care of her very genteelly, and pampers her like she is his daughter. Third, in our culture, parents are commended so much, and anything you do that bothers them is denounced and considered as a very big sin, and you will not be forgiven until they forgive you. However, it is obvious that these cultural and traditional values are fading away as the world is more progressing, and consequently people are getting busier with technology, their job and life. Our country is not exempt from this fact, and our people are gradually getting less considerate towards their parents. To sum it up, I believe children and youngsters should extensively respect their parents and obey them without any excuse.