TPO 53 Writing Independent It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

In the modern era, every government should allocate sufficient amount of budget to several aspects of society. The government should invest in education, health, and agriculture. However, nowadays some areas need more attention and accordingly, more budget should be considered for reconstructing or improving them including transportation and improving the Internet. The controversial question which arises here is whether it is more important to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. From my vantage point, there should be more on enhancing Internet access and speed. In what follows, two conspicuous reasons will elaborate on my viewpoint. The first aspect to point out is that with the advancement of technology, the Internet has become a widespread demand among people. Most people need the Internet to communicate, gather information about various topics, following the news, and so on. Therefore, it would be difficult for them to imagine a world without the Internet, and they would definitely find difficulty without it. For instance, once I was outside the city and I became lost since my location became unavailable on my mobile GPS and I lost my direction. I tried several times to reconnect, but I had no access to the Internet. Had I had access to the Internet then, I would not have gotten into such trouble. Moreover, the Internet has a great contribution to saving time and energy. People can do a lot of things with less cost and handling various affairs have become more efficient. For instance, using online bank services, people nowadays not only do not spend a lot of time traveling to the banks, waiting for their turn and doing their bank work but also they save a lot of energy since they can do their work anywhere they are. Moreover, they help the environment since they don' t have to travel through the city to do a single task. Furthermore, several organizations' function is totally dependent on the Internet. Many jobs provide online services like online shopping in which a great number of people work. Improving the Internet will definite a country itself since it would help its jobs flourish. Moreover, in recent years, other organizations including transportation, education and even hospitals use the Internet. Therefore, providing better Internet would definitely help them because the more the quality of the Internet is, the more efficient these organizations become. For example, nowadays, many taxis use the Internet. The taxi drivers use the Internet for both finding locations with light traffic which makes the travels much shorter. Besides, they can even find passengers easily using online taxi applications. To recapitulate, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that in modern societies more investment should be made on improving Internet access and quality. Although sufficient budget should be devoted to other areas as well, such as public transportation, the fact that the Internet has exceedingly become a worldwide demand among people necessitates special attention on boosting Internet access. Moreover, several organizations' function depends on access to high-quality Internet.