TPO 53: It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

As you already know, each society has its own needs and demands and according to this each year the government authorities plan to allocate a yearly budget for different purposes. These days some of the authorities hold the view that the improvement of internet access should be the government' s priority. From my own perspective, improving public transportation is more urgent than Internet access due to some apparent reasons. In the following paragraphs, I will cogently elaborate on my viewpoint. The most prominent point I want to declare here is the importance of preserving the environment which has a direct effect on the overall health of the society. As far as I am concerned, most of the metropolitans, like Tehran that I live in, is in an emergency condition due to air pollution. Most of the month of the year, especially in winter, the air condition is not healthy for most of the susceptible groups like children and the olds. It is a direct consequence of burning fossil fuels by different vehicles. If the government allocate enough budget for building infrastructures for public transportation or its improvement, this problem will be solved, as these days most of the citizens prefer to use their own vehicles in cities and it is mainly due to inadequate and poor public transportation. Solving this problem is prior to improving internet access as it leads to more clean air and prevents the prevalence of some chronic diseases like respiratory and heart diseases which can impose a great burden on the government. The other equally important point coming to my mind is that by spending money on the improvement of public transportation, the government could be able to save budget on other areas and use it surplus for other applications. To shed light on this issue, consider a country that has an equipped and modern system of public transportation that encourages people to use it. Therefore, the public demand for petroleum products like gasoline is at a low level as people use fewer cars. Hence, this government does not need to import an enormous amount of petroleum from other countries and can save its budget or allocate it to other areas like improving internet access or medical services. Therefore, the improvement of public transportation would have many notable and worthy subsequent consequences. For short, contemplating the previous paragraphs, it makes sense to draw the conclusion that the improvement of public transportations should be considered as a priority by governments. Allocating money for this area would help the government to save its budget and also it would provide a more healthy environment for society.