TPO 50: All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays in universities, a wide range of different courses are offered. Some of them are specific courses related to mathematics, biology, chemistry, and etc. The other courses fill into different categories that are considered as general courses like history. Regarding this issue, there is heated debate between the universities' authorities about making a general course like history, obligatory for all students regardless of their major. From my own perspective, It would not be a good idea due to some reasons. In the following paragraphs, I will cogently elaborate on my viewpoint. One of the most prominent points to be mentioned is that a majority of students are not interested in taking historical courses and this issue would be problematic. Most of the students are not passionate about learning history, hence these classes would be boring and tedious for them and when they attend the class they do not concentrate on materials. My personal experience is compelling evidence for my claim. When I was an undergraduate student, we were required to take the Islam History course. A great percentage of students were not avid about learning the history of Islam. Therefore during the class, they do not pay attention to the instructor, most of the time they disturbed the discipline of the class, and also did not attend the class regularly. These behaviors were really offensive and bothered the professor. Hence, I do believe that it is more advantageous that history classes be arbitrary. Another equally important point coming to my mind is that most of the time discussions in the history classes are controversial and both sides of the argument try to persuade the counter sides and eventually they would not convince each other. Again, I refer to my Islam History course. Most of my classmates did not have any religious beliefs or their beliefs were contrary to what was discussed in the class. Therefore, they passed tough moments in the class and it was not favorable for them to study what they do not believe in it. Sometimes they would initiate arguments that did not have any result and in fact, it was just a sheer waste of time of the class. Therefore, I think that it is not a good idea to require all the students to pass a specific history course. For short, due to the aforementioned reasons, it makes sense to draw the conclusion that history courses should be optional therefore students who are genuinely interested in history would take the course and take advantage of it. Otherwise, this course would not be profitable due to less enthusiasm for students about the course and controversial arguments during the class.