TPO-44 - Independent Writing Task Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing th

Certain individuals think that the age of retirement should not be fixed for everyone, and they should have the flexibility to decide at which age they want to retire. In my opinion, I agree that there should be an option for everyone to choose at what age retirement should be taken, as the nature of the job and health condition differs for everyone. Firstly, the nature of the job can create more physical stress or mental stress. For example, a person working as a carpenter will have to do all the work physically, on the other hand, someone who works as an accountant in a bank, has to use his mind to finish the work. In both the cases, the urge to retire differs, as they are exposed to different kind of difficulties. Also, at the age of 55, someone may find that their health is not co-operating with the work schedule, whereas I have seen some people working at the age of 70, even after their retirement from a government job. For example, cricket players retire at 40, because they will not be physically fit to play cricket matches which obviously needs more energy. Secondly, many people really want a break to spend some quality time with their grandchildren, or to stay with their children who live abroad. Mostly, an average individual starts working at the age of 22, and there is no relaxation in the middle. They have to continue working for their parents, spouse and children. Eventually, when they are 50, that is, after 28 years of working, they will feel like quitting their job and spending their time for family. An Oxford University study says that the average age of a person is 60. In that case, people should be given an opportunity to decide when to want to take their retirement as, one of the spouses may pass away in the meantime, which will result in no satisfaction of the retirement life. They will lose their partner when they are working and finally, when they reach the retirement period, they may end up being alone. Finally, I would like to conclude that everyone's struggle in life is different and each individual is running in a different race. So, they should have the freedom to choose how and when their retirement life should start, especially, whom they want to spend it with. After all, a person who is responsible throughout his life and helps the development of the family in all the ways, should be given a considerable amount of time to relax and focus on his own life.