TPO 42 - Question 4Explain how the example of the prairie dog illustrates the concept of habituation.

Certain nations are witnessing a growth in the average weight of its people along with a decline in the level of public health. This essay will suggest that the primary reason for this is the easy accessibility to unhealthy foods at affordable prices and educating the masses is the best solution, followed by a reasoned conclusion. Fast foods have become extremely affordable over the years and easy access to them is the biggest reason for weight increase among people. The current generation of individuals has less time to spare due to their busy schedules and prefer consuming food that takes less time to prepare. Therefore, they resort to eating quick unhealthy meals. For example, a study by Queen's University found that 71% of the working class of men and women wind up eating at restaurants that serve fast food since they have do not have long lunch breaks. A viable solution to this problem is to spread awareness among the public about the health risks associated with the consumption of unhealthy meals. Individuals are often unaware of the toll that junk food can have on their body. Once people know the damage that it does to them, they tend to be more cautious of what they put in their body. To illustrate, after campaigns were conducted in the city of Ahmedabad in May 2018 to promote fitness, fast-food joints experienced a 37% decline in sales in that same month. In conclusion, the chief cause of declining health among people is accessible and affordable junk meals and a possible solution is to increase public awareness.