TPO 42 - Question 1Choose an accomplishment that required you to work very hard. Explain what the accomplishment was and why it was important to you.

Computer based training is an increasing trend in the modern world; therefore, some claim that we will no longer need teachers in the classroom. I do not agree with this claim because, education is an art and based on some emotions, so computers are not very good at those areas. It is clear that computers use widely today’s education system, such as videos and programs. However, it has just a supporting role in the classroom at the moment and the main actor is still teachers. Even though there have been many developments in the computer technologies, they cannot produce any appropriate art today. Because our feelings and human interactions are really complex issues, that computers cannot maintain this role. I think teachers have some emotional roles in education that we need in the classroom. As human, we have emotional bonds with our teachers which we cannot build this relationship with a computer. If we like the course, we will be successful; otherwise, we fail. The role of a teacher is to get our interest in this course. For example, an English teacher tells us beautiful stories of the English people or read poems of this language. Then we start to love this lesson. A teacher can feel his students’ emotions and change himself due to their reactions. Moreover, teachers encourage us, proud of us, shout at us, punish us and even blame us sometimes. So, we change our attitude to our teacher’s feelings. On the other hand, computers are too mechanic to maintain those roles. To summarise, due to education is a complex issue and it is a kind of art, those smart machines cannot replace teachers and in my opinion, computers can only educate computers.