TPO 42 - Q2Some people prefer living in a big city. Other people prefer living in the countryside, away from urban areas. Which do you think is better? Explain why using specific details in your explanation.

It is a fact that motor vehicle accidents tend to increase annually; therefore, it is necessary for governments worldwide to apply proper strategies to prevent car accidents. Some people suggest that governments should increase the minimum legal age to obtain the legal drive license in order to enhance road safety. I strongly agree with this suggestion and the essay will discuss my view. To begin with, increasing the minimum age to be a legal driver is crucial to promote road safety worldwide. Firstly, teenagers tend to have fragile mental capacities which make them high-risk drivers. Only when they mature enough and have better capacities to control their mood, they are allowed to drive independently. Moreover, with the industrialization, road conditions tend to become more complex over the world, especially in the inner cities which contribute to the challenges of driving. The complicated and tough driving environment requires all drivers’ to stay calm during driving. However, it is tough for teenagers to stay calm during urgent situations as driving. For example, in Canada, teenagers are allowed to drive legally at the age of 16 years old with restriction. However, these teenagers remain lack of logic thinking skills and may also put them at risk to involve into car accidents. Therefore, increasing the age of 18 years old should be considered in Canada. In addition, nowadays, teenagers face more challenges during their daily lives. They tend to be vulnerable to nurture negative habits such drinking or doing drugs before driving. Moreover, mental health issues are much common among all inhabitants and also cause detrimental efficacy to their fitness for driving, especially for younger ones. Finally, the minimum legal age should be various in terms of individual national situations. For instance, in Chinese metropolitans, 18 years old is a muss standard for the youth to attend driving school and test because of Chinese complex road systems. If the youth has suffered from mental health issues, the proper legal age to become a drive should be increased in order to protect the public. In conclusion, in order to keep motor vehicle accident as low as possible to promote safe driving, governments At least 18 years old is a reasonable age for the health youth; while, for the ones with mental health issues, the legal ages to drive should be increased due to the above reasons. Proper driving rules will enhance national happiness of the public.