TPO 38 Writing Independent Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of civilization, different groups have been formed in various levels of society with certain goals among which a certain person or group has a special duty to manage the people and the activities. As we know, such people are called leaders who usually put certain decisions into action and cope with the problems in a group, organization or society. Certain characteristics are considered indispensable for a leader such as management, determination, tenacity, etc. In this regard, some people are inclined toward the fact that to have such qualities a person should inherently have such qualities and thus it is almost impossible for others to become a leader while others hold exactly the opposite view. I personally believe that it is possible that one learns to be a leader. In what follows, I will elaborate on my idea through two significant reasons. First of all, no one can' t deny the fact that the nurturing process in every individual' s life has a great impact on the person' s traits. The very activities and the experiences in childhood and afterward the experiences at schools have a great impact on the person' s desires, views, and most importantly personality. Through playing games with friends, a child can learn certain things that he can either be a leader or the person who obeys the rules. Also, he would be familiar with the responsibilities of a leader. But, the external factors may lead him to prefer each of the roles. Moreover, at school, he can learn to practice the abilities with the school activities. Besides, the students can experience and practice being a leader when assigned by their teacher to be a leader of a group. The experiences, the activities and the results they see in such activities, form the student’s attitude and skill about the leadership. Moreover, in addition to the experiences in the person' s early life, certain courses in the schools and universities which are taught by knowledgeable and experienced people can have a conspicuous influence on everyone who aims to be a leader. A case in point is one of my uncles. He used to be a reserved guy who always avoided taking responsibilities let alone leading a number of people when he was a teenager. After entering the university in his favorite major, mechanical engineering, he created new designs of a certain machine, which won many awards. Soon, he became passionate about running a new company related to his field. But, this time rather than passing on the responsibilities of management to someone else, he thought of himself as a leader. By attending many workshops and other activities, he achieved the qualities and after the establishment of his company, he started to flourish as a great manager and leader. To recapitulate, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that one can learn to be a leader and we can' t necessarily conclude that all leaders were naturally qualified for such a role. Although the fact that certain qualities are innate in people and these qualities play significant roles in the qualification of a leader, the fact that these qualities can be raised in the individuals in the young age, or be transferred through academic courses almost dismisses the fact that leadership should come naturally.