TPO 33 Independent Writing When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

In modern education, accomplishing projects are part of the essential stages of leaning. Students master and practice much of their learned courses by doing assignments whether individually or in groups. The controversial question which arises here is whether assigning projects on which students can work in groups would be more productive or projects in which students work separately. From my vantage point, projects which incorporate group work are more beneficial. In the following paragraphs, the most significant reasons are discussed. The first aspect to point out is that group work could function as a way to teach students social interactions. Part of the social life includes social interactions with other people and give-and-takes in different levels of the community. Therefore, students should learn how to behave appropriately as a member of society and one of the ways to attain this indispensable quality is through working in groups. In groups, various roles are defined and everyone has a certain responsibility. Therefore, students can learn a sense of cooperation and responsibility which would cause them to have more effective interaction with others in the future. For instance, once I was asked to work on a project with one of my friends. Although she wasn' t a smart girl and I sometimes had to work more than her, the experience gave me a lot of valuable insight on how to interact with others and respect them. Furthermore, students can learn faster if they work in the form of groups. Members can help each other on learning and understanding the concepts, which enhances the quality of studying. A good example is my assignments in Hydraulics which was a tough course. The group assignments would allow us to exchange our knowledge and information on each subject and doing the assignments together would lead us to make fewer mistakes since any mistake would be figured out by someone else. Moreover, students become more motivated to study if they work in forms of groups. Their abilities would become complementary together and a task that can take hours could be done in a few hours. An assigned project could be divided into separate parts and each person can work a specific part or all members can focus their minds on a single problem and solve it. Both solutions would cause the assignment to be finished as soon as possible. In the previous example, not only did the group work improved the quality of our studying, but also it helped us finish the projects sooner. To recapitulate, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that group projects are more productive and helpful. Considering the fact that group projects can train students to acquire social abilities as well as learning more efficiently, it is highly recommended that teachers try to assign group projects.