TPO 34 #2 Private car should not be allowed in the city centers of large cities. Use details and examples to explain your opinion.

Working over time is becoming a lifestyle for many workers nowadays, causing them to have a limited or even no time to pursue their personal interests. While there are some benefits, such as the ability to gain an extra income and fasten one’s career progression; the drawbacks, namely increase in depression level and unhealthy lifestyle, are draconian. Some workers find it beneficial for them to work longer hours than ever before. One of the main factors is related to the finance. As we may be aware, some people have been struggling to cope with the increased of cost of their daily expenses, and therefore, working an extra hour seems to be a viable solution for them to earn more income in order to support their lives. This phenomenon can be seen in many developing countries in Asia, where the rate of people who work over the time is rising. In addition, some employees, especially in the lower-level rank, tend to sacrifice their leisure hours to work so that they can climb their career ladder faster than usual. These people think by over-performing others, they will have more chance to move into the next level in their career path. This method has been proven to work effectively in Japan, where staff, who usually stay longer in the office to work will receive a higher performance rating during the appraisal period. Sacrificing our personal lives to work longer hours is not without its shortcoming, however. Some people may not realize what more important for them is to have a work-life balance. The majority of employee these days are suffering from acute depression as they are either required by the company or it is their own decision to work overtime. A recent research conducted by the University of Cambridge, for example, has revealed that 80% of young executives suffer from mental-illness problem due to the heavy load and stress caused by work. Furthermore, this trend has led many workers to live a sedentary lifestyle, which can be detrimental to their overall well-being. A prime example can be seen by the growing number of employees, who have to combat with the overweight issue as they are getting busier with working than exercising. In conclusion, there are pros and cons of people leaving their free time to working over the required hours. While there are some benefits can be obtained from this trend, such as gaining an extra money and promotion, the drawbacks, which detriment one’s physical and mental health, far outweigh the advantages. Therefore, it should be avoided and prevented by all of the workers.