Increasing car usage in many large global cities has caused a number of problems. Some cities have proposed banning private vehicles from the city centre.

Cities are characterized with lots of cars use probably due to increased industrialization in the environment. Some governments are looking into reducing the quantity of vehicles on the major city roads by using some measures such as restricting certain vehicle type in some areas. This essay agrees to the measure which bans the use of private cars from the city centres. Increased cars on urban roads have contributed greatly to road traffic. People get late to work in the morning and likewise get home late. In Lagos for instance, routes to industrialized areas are usually traffic intensified. This traffic in turn has increased pollution, such as noise and air pollution. Vehicles horn indiscriminately because drivers are in a haste. Several cars on the highway increase the quantity of carbon monoxide released into the environment. After getting to work, despite the traffic, people are faced with the problem of parking their motors. Some park by the roadside or walkway. This further obstructs the flow of traffic for road users and sidewalks. Road traffic and parking are also known to encourage robbery in some cities like Lagos. Hoodlums break car windows and take peoples' belongings. Can governments' plan to ban private vehicles from city centres make a major difference? Yes, it can, thereby making highways less busy and walk areas free. Road flows properly while pollution level is reduced. Theft rates falls since vehicles will move at a steady speed. Individuals have the options of public or company buses to convey them to such areas. Ferry use or cycling could be better options too if applicable. In conclusion, the implementation of this policy will go a long way in decongesting the major urban roads. Economic activities, citizens' and environmental health will feel this positive impact.