TPO 30 Writing Independent It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

In the modern era, people seek for jobs which can perfectly suit them. Most people select their careers based on their abilities, talents, and interests. Other preferences and aspects like working hours are also considered important when one intends to choose a job. In this regard, some people prefer to have a job in which they can work only three days a week for long hours while others prefer a job in which they work five days a week for shorter hours. From my vantage point, the second one would be more rational. In the following paragraphs, the most significant reasons are illustrated. The first aspect to point out is that long hours of work in a single day makes the person extremely exhausted. In the working days, the person works for a long time and there is much pressure on him to finish his tasks. As a result, in working days and after work not only will the person not have enough hours to manage personal tasks including house chores or dealing with children but also he would not act as sharp and active as he normally is. He even may not be able to get enough sleep since most of the day' s hours are spent at work. For instance, once my father found a job as a construction supervisor. He used to work twelve hours a day but fewer days a week. The fact that he had to work fewer days a week gave us the chance to go on trips and spend time together. However, long hours of work during working days made him really tired. Over time, the pressure changed his temper and he became over sensitive and anxious. Soon, he came into conclusion that the job was really bothering for him and the consequences led him to change his job to one with normal working hours. Furthermore, a job with more days off would make the person lose his balance in personal life. Although the person can devote more time to do exercises, playing with his children and spending more time with family, according to statistics, most people actually waste their time if they have much free time. They may spend a lot of time just surfing the Internet, watching TV or sleeping for long hours. Such activities would cause serious psychological and physical damages to the person. The other noteworthy aspect to mention is that these activities would make the person inefficient at work as well since the person would become lazy because of the long period of leisure time and they may spend hours and hours of work just waiting for their work to be finished. Consequently, they may not function well enough or may get frustrated with their jobs. However, in a normal job, such issues are not discussed since most people would not waste their free time to experience negative consequences. Therefore, they function better at work and enjoy working much more than others. To recapitulate, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that it would be more enjoyable to have a job with shorter hours a day but more days in a week. Although one can enjoy many days off if they have a job in which they have to work three days a week, the person, in fact, gets more exhausted after work and his efficiency would definitely decline not only in real life but at work. It is recommended that organizations consider fewer working hours for their jobs as much as the job conditions allow so that they enjoy more efficient and healthy workers.