Topic: Some people believe that smoking should be banned due to its effects, others argue that smoking has too many benefits to be banned.

Smoking has inevitably been a concern to people around the world for many years. While it is often believed that smoking must not be allowed due to its various detrimental effects on people’s health, some people argue that it still has lots of positive aspects and should not be banned. On the one hand, it is no doubt that smoking is harmful to humans’ health. Many scientists have claimed that smoking is the primary culprit of various dangerous diseases, especially lung cancer. For example, my grandfather has been a heavy smoker for over 20 years. He was diagnosed with lung cancer two years ago. Since then he has had to go to the hospital monthly, which costs him a lot of money. Chemotherapy makes him weaker as well as causes many pains to his body. Moreover, people around him are also forecasted to have some diseases related to cigarette smoke. Therefore, it is necessary for the government to prohibit smoking. On the other hand, cigarettes also bring many financial benefits. Nowadays, cigarettes are popular with lots of people, so the cigarette industry is strongly developed in many countries, which contributes good revenues for the government through taxes. For instance, in China, the taxes on cigarettes are extremely high. If a person spends 10 RMB to buy a package of cigarettes then 7. 5 RMB are added into the government’s turnover. Secondly, a lot of people enjoy smoking so there will be a huge number of people working for cigarette companies. If the government banned smoking, a huge number of citizens will definitely become unemployed, which is the financial burden of the whole society. Therefore, smoking should not be banned due to its economic merits. In conclusion, although cigarettes consumption brings some benefits to the economy, I personally think that they should be prevented due to its negative effects on people’s health.