TPO 29 - Question 1Which of the following jobs or careers do you think would be most rewarding? University professorEnvironmental scientistNewspaper journalistChoose one career and explain why you think it would be most rewarding. Use details and examples

One of the hotly debated issues is scientific research in the field of genetics. There is an opinion that achievements in this area can be significantly harmful to people in the future and should not unlimitedly be continued. I partially agree with this, but I must recognize the positive side of progress in the field of genetic engineering. On the one hand, genetic engineering can lead to new types of terminal illnesses. Since scientists discovered DNA in the mid-20th century, the risk of new types of diseases has been rapidly increased. For instance, as is known due to gain a lot of volume of cobweb, which is necessary for nanotechnology, scientists have linked the DNA of spider with the DNA of goat. It gives the chance to get enough volume of cobweb from the goat’s milk. However, no one cannot guaranty that spider's diseases will not transfer to human beings in this way. Thus, the opinion that this kind of dangerous trend must be limited is well-founded. On the other hand, achievements in genetic engineering contribute to decreasing hunger in a world. Crossing different crop genes lead to an increase in their resistant and harvest. For example, cold and decay-resistant of some type of potato have been rising due to crossing with the DNA of potato beetle. Moreover, scientists allege that such a kind of achievement is absolutely safe for human beings. Therefore, continuing experiments in this area might be more beneficial in the future. In conclusion, though I agree that the results of these experiments might be a course of irreversible consequences such as unknown types of diseases, these achievements also might bring unlimited benefits for humanity.