TPO 27 - Question 2 Parents should be involved in the process of helping their children to choose a university. Use specific reasons and details in your response.

Weddings, undoubtedly, are becoming more lavish day by day. Some believe this marriage extravaganza causes financial burden and unnecessary stress on the future couples and I completely agree with this statement. Firstly, in order to afford grand weddings, new couples and their families normally undertake big loans or use their long-term savings. This is because by doing so, they feel integrated in their society and hence, they will not carry the stigma of being poor or stingy. For instance, when my cousin got married, her parents used all the money that they have been saving for years into her big day. Had they done a small marriage, depending on their affordability, that money could have been used in a more useful and productive way. Secondly, large parties come with plenty of stressful moments. In an aim to have everything perfectly set up in a short span of time, future brides and grooms do not enjoy these days as much as they should have been. To exemplify, my best friend who is also a big fan of an Indian actress, tried to imitate her big fat wedding, and end up spending much of her time looking for perfect caterers along with event planners so that nothing goes amiss. Had she spent that time with her would-be-husband, they would have had the chance to know one another which could have helped them in the future life. In conclusion, despite big weddings make people feel socially prestigious, it does not outweigh the negative impacts that it causes on future husbands and wives. Instead, this money and time could have been spent into more fruitful and rewarding way specially for the future.