TPO 27 - Question 2 Parent should be in the process of helping their children to choose a university. Use specific reasons and details in your response.

A number of countries have experienced quick economic progress recently and that in return has improved the living standards of citizens. According to some, this development has improved the city life, but did almost nothing for the rural area. So the gap, in terms of economic growth, between the urban and rural areas actually hampered the overall improvement of a country. Many issues have emerged because of this discrimination that we will discuss shortly. On the other hand, different strategies and solutions can be implemented to overcome the problems which have caused by the inequality of development between cities and villages. Many cities of the world have enjoyed an ever increasing economic and trade facilities. Besides, there are plenty of activities to create new infrastructure such as roads, hospitals, schools, and parks in city areas which improve the lifestyle of city dwellers. Similarly, more businesses and more job opportunities are being created in the cities. But, studies show that progress in country sides is very slow and many such rural areas do not even have basic infrastructure and job facilities. This results in the migration of people from rural areas to cities for better living. As a result, cities are also facing issues like overpopulation and pollution. Overpopulation in a city adds pressure on existing facilities like transport, education, health, and recreational places. For the same reason, there is an increase in the air, water, and noise pollution of cities that receive an influx of migrants from rural areas. The overall development of a country depends on a balanced development, both in cities and rural areas and that is why developments in rural areas are also required. In order to tackle issues mentioned above, both the government and private sectors need to work together. First, they need to start constructing a strong network of road and transportation that will connect rural areas to urban areas. Thus, goods and other materials can be transported efficiently and the economy and trade would flourish more. Second, the government should give subsidy to business people to establish factories and industries in the rural areas. This will create more job opportunities at the footstep of villagers, and thus improve their living standards. Thirdly, banks should give easy loans to farmers to invest in the crops and get better yield at the time of harvest. Above all, more facilities such as colleges, hospitals and playgrounds should be created in rural areas so people living there do not need to migrate to a city for a better living. To conclude, it is evident that world’s cities have gone through a rapid progression in terms of trade and development, but that was not shared in the same ratio with country sides. This contributed to many major metropolitan problems. But, these problems can be reduced to a greater extent, when both the government and private sectors make effort to divide funds and facilities between cities and villages.