TPO 22 - Q2(2 Children should be required to learn practical skills, such as cooking or personal finance, in addition to academic subjects. Use details and examples to explain your opinion.

It is often argued that equal importance is given to core subjects, such as maths and science and traditional subjects, particularly at the early level of education. This essay agrees with this viewpoint because of the benefits it brings to students. Firstly, this essay will discuss why learning, arts is crucial at primary level and how these social skills are valued later in their life. The primary reason why music and art are considered essential is that it is the first way for young ones to express their thoughts and emotions. Before learning any language, a child learns through pictorial representation and they explicit this through their thought provoking ideas, thereby encouraging creativity. This is because arts present ideas and objects in interesting ways that allow these children enjoy thinking and creating images of their own. For example, my daughter has learned to point-out alphabets and numbers at very a early age before she could even speak a word. The second main reason how the arts are mandatory in developing the social skills that can be beneficial later on. By doing arts projects while learning is likely to develop their communicative skills along with academic competence, which boosts their chances in obtaining better career opportunities. To illustrate this, a study conducted in The Journal of Education reported that students who took part in activities such as music, arts and drama in school outperformed in their jobs. In conclusion, balancing the importance of both arts and science at the primary level help children learn to express themselves and excel in the development of social skills.