TPO 14 - Question 3University Should Allow Eating in ClassCurrently, there is a university-wide policy that prohibits eating in the classroom. I disagree with this policy. I think students should be allowed to eat in class. This change would be good for t

In today’s world, a lot of people, especially parents, potential parents, and most teachers are concerned more about children's education. Lots of research has been made which revealed the undeniable truth that punishment could be harmful to children not only physically but also mentally. Therefore, I disagree with the idea that children must be punished to help them learn the distinction between right and wrong. First of all, a punishment that involves physical contact could affect the physical condition of the children while educating them. This type of punishment is called “physical punishment”. Results of a physical punishment could be disastrous. Children might fall behind on their sports classes at school due to possible injuries which eventually led to a decrease in their fitness level in the long term. Besides, children who are exposed to physical punishment for a long time may display aggressive behaviour. As a result, children might have problems in their social relationships. Secondly, there is another type of punishment which is called “soft punishment”. This kind of punishment consists mostly of verbal abuse, taking away an object what children valued most (it is generally his or her toys). As well as physical punishments, soft punishments could harm children’s social relationships. According to researches that have been made recently, there is a direct link between a child’s level of self-confidence and exposing them to verbal abuse. Parents or teachers who abuse children verbally could be responsible for a lack of self-confidence in them. On the other hand, taking away what children valued most could feel the fear of losing their precious. Since this method of punishment makes children feel uncomfortable and under pressured, it is not suggested by many psychologists. In conclusion, any kind of punishment that applied to children could result in irreversible consequences. Parents and teachers should tolerate children’s innocent mistakes and patiently show them the right way. Therefore, I contradict any idea that suggests children must be punished no matter what.