TPO 10 - Question 1Talk about a time when you accomplished something you did not think you could do. What do you accomplish? Why did you think you could not do it?

In the contemporary world, it is common belief that to reduce the amount of traffic jam in many cities, it is necessary to use public transportation services instead of excessive use of personal cars. Although, I agree that the frequency and security of public transportation is lesser than private cars, personally, I strongly believe that public transportation can be useful to save money because of lesser cost, safety and reliable transport which results lesser traffic jams in cities. In the following essay, I will discuss this issue using some examples to support my views and demonstrate points. First of all, convincing argument can be made that the higher the usage of public transport instead of personal vehicles leads lesser the traffic jams in cities. To begin with, due to lesser usage of personal cars, it helps to reduce the amount of pollution caused by vehicles. In other words, the less consumption of fuel for excessive use of private cars saves the environment from being polluted and gives healthier life to people; therefore, the usage of public transportation must be increased. The second reason for my belief is that, public transportation services are more reliable and secure to commute than personal cars. For instance, public transport is affiliated by government, which ultimately gives high priority to their commuters in many ways. Additionally, more usage of public transportation and lesser the usage of private cars helps humans to build a healthier life. For example, if the traffic jam is less, then people start using their bicycle and that is helpful to maintain their health as well as the environment. If these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly strengthened. On the other hand, some arguments can be made that the public transportation service is poor in many cities which insist them to use private cars. The main reason for this is one reason that will support the other side. However, closer examination would reveal that if the frequency of public transportation is increased with good quality of service, then people need not to use their personal cars to commute. Apart from this, further analysis would make it clear that increasing the use of public transportation gives beneficial results in many ways. To sum up, although there are some benefits of private cars, the advantages of public transportation surely outweighs its disadvantages. Having considered all the argument above, I would concede that public transportation gives beneficial results in many ways including lesser the traffic jams in cities.