It is more enjoyable for students to read works of fiction (such as novels and stories) than nonfiction. Use specific examples and details to support your opinion.

Some argue that punishment should be used in educating children what is right and what is wrong has been a controversial issue. Although I partly agree the statement, punishment applied should be positive and educational and absolutely exclude corporal ones. To begin, there are reasons that parents and teachers can use punishment in child education. Sometimes, the kids just go beyond the line and do not follow the discipline, then they need to be given punishment to be taught right from wrong. However, this approach is not supposed to make the kids afraid of adults, but to teach them the importance of good manners. Together with rewards, punishment is part of child discipline methods that encourage desirable behaviours and discourage others in children. When punishment is used appropriately, it can help dissuade children from some types of bad behaviours. Furthermore, a good punishment is the one that helps students pick up lessons and change their attitude and behaviours in a positive way. In other words, punishment should serve the purpose of education which teaches children to acknowledge their mistakes, understand the consequences and take responsibility for their ill manners. For instance, if a student draws on the school wall, he or she will have to clean the wall as a detention. This approach helps students understand their mistakes and the consequences, thus they will not repeat that manner in the future. Other approaches can be an early bedtime (in family), doing extra chores or no break time if they misbehave. In addition, corporal and verbal punishment such as hitting, spanking and scolding should be avoided since they can cause behavioural and psychological problems in young learners. They can even result in low self-esteem, aggression and stress-related issues in the long run. Besides, punishment can go with rewards, since children deserve to be applauded when they do something good. Parents can take some time-out from their offsprings if they mess around, but the kids also deserve a day-out to a park as a reward for being nice to friends or making efforts I in their study. In conclusion, it is possible to use punishment to teach young learners right and wrong, but the methods should be for education purposes and importantly the betterment of children.