Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country?

In a modern society, there is no doubt that international tourists bring a lot of positive impact on many countries, while these benefits also come with negative issues. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and provide a logical conclusion. It is undoubtedly true that the primary benefit of encouraging tourism is that it is a profitable source of income for many countries. In other words, tourists provide opportunities for supporting a country economy. One example of these tourists spend money on a wide range of services, including hotels, amusements, transportation, food and medical services. This way, tourism yields an additional income, greatly supporting the country’s economy. Hence, tourism brings significant benefit such as a boost in a national economy. On the other hand, the rising influx of holidaymakers is associated with increased incidences of crimes and antisocial activities like drugs and gambling, which affect the values of the indigenous society. Moreover, tourism can induce damage to monument and other historical places. This is evidenced by the massive entrance of tourists to places like historical monuments causes significant damage to these age-old structures. Therefore, tourism increases the crimes as well as brings destructive effects on monuments. In my opinion, to attract more foreigners to the country, government and public will make efforts to improve the infrastructure of cities and towns. Furthermore, they become more concerned about retaining the natural resources and conserving the countryside as most visitors enjoy visiting and appreciating the beauty of the countryside. Therefore, it is obvious that encouraging tourism apparently paves the way to protect the environment and its resources from many threats. In conclusion, it can be confidently conveyed that, even though the growth in travel industry has accompanying negative social impacts, these do not outweigh the contributions made by this sector towards social development.