Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history.

When discussing the value of history, and whether we should learn it, one should bear in mind the complexity of the issue. Although some people think that history is irrelevant, others, including my self, beleive that history is essential and should be taught. In the following essay, I will provide arguments and examples to support both views, and provide my opinion. According to some people, due to the vast social and technological advances made over the last century, historic events became irrelevant and so there is no point in learning it. The army, for example, uses modern plains that have many advanced abilities, such as GPS, smart missiles and beter fuel consumption. As a result, there is no need to learn about air strikes during the second world war, because the capabilities of the plains were completely different. This demonstrates that history can become obselete by new developments, and so there is no need to learn about it. In contrast, some people, including myself, think that history is the best tool teach us how to address social issues, and should be educated. During the second world war, as an example, the jewish community collected orphan children and sent them as a group to Israel, where they continued to live together for many years, assisting each other as a family. This approach is still used today in Israel when treating children from brokens families. In my opinion, this demonstrates that by learning history we can be able to adress daily problems. In conclusion, some believe that, due to the major changes in our society, there is no need to learn history, while others think it is a valuable tool that teaches us how to cope with social issues. In my opinion learning history is valuable and should be taught.