Topic: Only government actions can solve the housing shortage in big cities? What extend

These days, it is believed that the lack of accommodation is an increasing menace in the big cities which could be tackled by only the government’s action. Personally, I totally agree with this view because of several effective measures. There are several individual solutions which could be addressed. To begin with, sharing the living space could be considered as a prior measure to tackle this issue. In the case of newlywed, they would have a tendency to settle in a new house of their own with only spouses. If multiple generations live together, the needs of housing could be decreased However, I would argue that only the government is able to handle this problem by the construction of apartment buildings. High-floor apartments that allow thousands of households to live in a storey could save more available spaces. The more buildings appear and occupy the position of independent houses, the more housing demand could be satisfied. Additionally, Constructing satellite cities could be considered as an effective way to improve housing status in urban areas. To explain, this type of city which is smaller municipalities are adjacent to a major city named metropolitan area. The infrastructure such as highway, public services would be invested in by the government, so that the citizens are able to get access easier to the metropolis despite settling far from the city center. This convenience would encourage citizens to evacuate to outskirts which could effectively improve the status of houses lacking in big cities. Due to the convenience of satellite towns, there would be more people evacuate to the outskirts giving rise to solve the shortage of housing in big cities. In conclusion, adequate accommodation is a fundamental issue for those living in the cities. While individuals play a role in improving the housing problem, the responsibilities of the government could be the most important and overcome that of people.