Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information is relevant and useful. Others disagree.

During the recruitment process for job employment, employers tend to ask individuals applying for a certain role to fill some personal information such as hobbies, interests, and marital status: single or married. But is this piece of information relevant and useful? Some people opine that it is necessary while other individuals are of the opinion that it is irrelevant. This essay will discuss both perspectives and state my opinion. The proponents of this view often agree to the notion that the information is highly appropriate and effective because it hastens the recruitment process. The job description is often stated and explained in the advert, but several people, both qualified and unqualified apply. Employers generally have some criteria in selecting candidates for a particular job role such as sporting activities, hobbies, and leisure time events. For instance, a particular role might involve traveling to different parts of the world. During the recruitment, if a candidate signifies that he or she does not like traveling, it would be noted as such, and such candidate would not be recruited, or better still, would be placed in another sector in the organization. In other words, it hastens the time used in employing individuals for a job advert. Opponents of this notion opine that it is irrelevant and useless mainly because it seems biased. Some people do perceive the information as a form of discrimination among their fellow candidates applying for a job in an organization. There are some job opportunities that are mainly suitable for single adults, once a married person applies, such individual does not seem fit for the job. As a result of this, the married candidate may feel discriminated from the other candidates because of the marital status and that the piece of vital information stated enabled him or her not to partake in the competitive employment pool. In my opinion, specific personal information requested for during the recruitment process is very important, relevant and useful. Not only because it hastens the long process of recruiting people, it also enables the human resource team of such company select the best and suitable person for the job role. In conclusion, this debate is continuously universal as people have different opinions or views. Therefore, proponents do opine that the information is relevant because it fastens the recruitment process and enables the company select the suitable person, while opponents argue that it is a form of discrimination.