Topic: Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions.

It is perceived by many that investing money in maintaining public libraries does not bring any benefits while nowadays people can apply technology computer for reading book. Personally, I completely disagree with the opinion. Hardly can anyone deny the popularity of technology in recent years. However, I have a belief that high tech gadgets cannot replace public libraries. The first reason is that people who love reading books have a tendency to read physical books than electronic ones. Indeed, readers would like to hold their favorite book in their hands to feel its cover and the smell of the pages, which people cannot have if they use electronic books. Moreover, reading book does not damage people’s health as reading lines of texts on screens of computers. Undoubtedly, looking on screens with a lot of radiations for a long period of time will make people’s eyes be tired. This will lead to the fact that they cannot read much if they use a computer for reading, which is compared to a book. As a result, people still prefer a real book in their hands than a book from the internet. For example, citizens of Ho Chi Minh City still go to libraries for reading books although the development of technology in modern era. The other point which needs to be considered is that maintaining public libraries can save money for societies. Indeed, not everything is free on the internet, special for books. People often have to pay amount of money to buy books on the internet. As a result, the amount of money used for the books is huge. Meanwhile, by using public libraries, people can leave books at libraries after finishing reading so that other ones can borrow the books without any costs. For instance, students can save a lot of money by using books of the libraries in universities. In conclusion, although people can use computers for reading books nowadays, public libraries still bring a lot of benefits for readers and their societies. So I have a strong belief that maintaining public libraries is the important activity which should be done.