Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions.

Technological advances have paved the way for the development of digital library resources. A large number of people argue that it is a waste of money to maintain traditional libraries since the development of advanced technology has enormous benefits. Personally, I don’t agree with this idea. Nobody can deny that the digital library resources help people a lot in broadening their horizon, for this reason, it has a wide range of materials that books refer. For example, many kinds of books also have an ebook version for people to easily use it via the internet. Thus, it would save unnecessary expenses on traveling to the conventional library. However, apart from the enormous benefits, the virtual library brings, traditional libraries still plays a vitally important part in our lives. Although, digital library and conventional share some common features, the traditional one has fulfilled its outstanding functions such as hosting reading events. Moreover, people consider this place as the location for self-study and working conference, where there are absolute silence, peace, and scholarly atmosphere that nowhere can replace. Additionally, it is said that, in the traditional library, a variety of some rare books, archives or special manuscripts are not likely to be available in digital format with a wide range of precious information are placed there, which would never be seen anywhere else via the internet. In conclusion, it seems to me that although the development of technology has paved the way for an online library, the traditional one, which is a good choice for studying, has played an important role in daily life.