TOPIC # 55 A person should never make an important decision alone.

t is believed by some that the price of a service or an item is an essential factor to consider before deciding to purchase it. This essay believes that people should take into consideration the cost before deciding to buy or not. Firstly, this essay will discuss the benefits of considering the price before making a purchase and secondly, how wanting expensive items can lead to crippling debts. On the one hand, people should be given enough time to think about the price of something before acquiring it. They need to consider if they can afford it as this can give them problems in the future. They need to think about their monthly expenses as well as their overall salary, to see if they can afford what they want, and making sure they do not get into debt. For example, a survey by the Business Mirror Philippines in 2010 revealed that 8 out of 10 Filipinos preferred to save the money needed before buying a new cellphone, rather than using a credit card because they were afraid of having monthly debts. On the other hand, over the last few decades, the rise of credit card debt has been escalating. More and more people are tempted to buy products without considering the price due to the pressure from advertisements, peer pressures and the ready access to credit cards. There are a lot of luxury items that have been purchased using credit cards, which in return has lured many individuals into debt. For instance, a study by the Metrobank of the Philippines reported that 99% of credit card applications came from minimum wage earners who wanted a credit card to purchase high-end products. In conclusion, I agree that people should plan first before making a decision to buy expensive products or services for this could only give them problems in the future if they cannot afford it.