We live today in an electronic information age. It is easier to be connected by technology yet many people seem no closer to feeling happy in their lives. Discuss.

Some would argue that television is beneficial only for amusement, while others believe that it is a useful educational tool. Although some programs can be informative and educational, I think it is more useful for entertainment because it is a better way to relax. On the one hand, some people say that television can help in learning because it displays information attractively. These days the primary TV spectators are children and many channels broadcasts, several documentaries, and educational programs that engage the young viewer. Usually, the programs contain such pictures, graphics, and sound effects that can make learning more enjoyable. In this way, knowledge will be more comprehensive and consolidated in young brains. For example, recent research has revealed that around 60% of the young generation in the U. K. gained interest in what profession to pursue in adult life from television shows. However, I believe that such programs are limited, and television is designed mainly for amusing purposes. On the other hand, some think that television is only for enjoyment because viewers have access to a considerable variety of channels. Likewise, TV is designated in the first place to make people happy and relax in their spare time. Therefore, the majority of its content is entertaining. If people watch a comedy show or a movie after a long day of work, their stress levels will reduce. Hence they will be able to recharge their batteries for the next working day. For instance, a recent survey by The Sunday Times, in India found that over 70%of people watch television and movie channels in the evening to relax. Therefore, I believe that television is an excellent way to relax. In conclusion, although television programs might be valuable as an educational resource because it fascinatingly displays information, I believe that more benefits are obtained when it is used for enjoyment because it aired many entertaining shows.