Too much money is spent looking after and repairing old buildings. We should knock down and build modern ones instead.

There are a large number of money spent on maintaining old buildings. Some people think that it is pointless to look after them and we should replace them with modern buildings. I believe that it should depend on the value of buildings. It is clear that buildings which are too old to lose functions should be knocked down and build new ones. Because of peoples’ growing demands, some old buildings are abandoned. Besides, the structures of the abandoned buildings are usually not firm enough, not only the cost spent on repairing them is a waste but also the buildings endanger peoples’ lives. They should be knocked down to provide more space to other new buildings. New facilities and technologies, like lifts and air condition, can be used in modern architectures, which means the buildings can meet peoples growing demands. The buildings that have historic and artistic values should be protected. Some historic events happened in there, which make the buildings playing a crucial role in history. While buildings with artistic values can be used to improve peoples’ aesthetic appreciation. Both of them were properly be built by famous persons or local dwellers’ efforts. We should spend financial looking after and repairing them, make sure that they will be stable enough as significant landmarks. For example, the Leaning Tower of Pisa is no doubt to be a gorgeous architecture; what’s more, Galileo’s Free-Falling-Experiment happened in the tower. It is undeniable that we do our best to protect it. In conclusion, whether an old building should be knocked down or be maintained is depended on the its value in terms of art and history.