Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory.

It is thought by many people that subjects which are difficult to study by children should be made optional instead of being mandatory. I disagree with this statement because making certain subjects optional will lead to decline in overall knowledge of children, increase in depression and hamper the society. First of all, if certain subjects are made optional then children will opt for subjects which they find easy to score, irrespective of the benefit that the subject provides in their life. At present, because the subjects are compulsory, children learn the basics of all areas such as maths, science, arts and so on. Being aware of all the areas, children are more equipped to select their majors and then career path. Secondly, if subjects were made optional, children will be inclined to study subjects which are easy to learn so that they can avoid the hardships of learning. This way they will never go through the difficult process of learning. They will develop a habit of achieving goals in life, choosing the easier options which will be harmful in a long run. In future, if children do not achieve their goals, then they will feel depressed. Finally, for an overall development of a child, research show that all the basic subjects should be compulsory. Post the higher school, children are aware of subject they are inclined to, and they can make a wise decision of choosing their major. In conclusion, keeping certain subjects, optional would hamper the overall development of the child and would hamper the society in a long run.